It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this

It is true that phenomenon of a yearlong break after graduating from school before joining university has showed a dramatic increase amongst students. The advantages of this trend is teenangers have amount of time learning new skill and earning money to pay tuition fee. However, it has negative impacts for them.

Looking at the positive side, taking a year off after completing school gives several merits. Firstly, it gives an individual enough amount of time to expand their skills. Additionally, adolscents may invest their time to be participated in several webinars or courses, as a part of enhancing competencies before going to university. For instance, majority of medical students in Indonesia, has taken a year break since it needs long preparation. Secondly, as the university fee is expensive. Several students from low-economy family should gain money by getting job, as source of income. Hence, these benefits earn with implementing a yearlong break before study to university.

Looking at the negative side, it has drawbacks to students who will implement this plan. Firstly, it will risk their future if students do not arrange the plan carefully. As the adolescents will spend the break with pointless objectives, instead of being participated in academic courses. Consequently, students may forget most of the lesson that has been tought in school, as well as they have to work harder to understand the subject. Secondly, the individuals will loss academic motivation to pursue their higher education degree. Since students likely enjoy their job and obtain their own income. They believe education degree is not necessary for getting well-paid job, resulting in not joining to university

In conclusion, considering a yearlong break before joining university has two sides. The students will enough time to prepare their academic plan, otherwise, this may lead to more consideration.