Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Even though advertisements are believed to play an essential role in attracting buyers, many claims that the popularity of advertising also results in the disregard of customers. For me, it is true that the widespread advertisements don’t attract our attention as they used to do; however, it is also undeniable that advertising aids in maintaining the good reputation of brands and customers’ positive perception of them.

On the one hand, employing advertising in marketing seems to help improve the number of buyers. Thanks to advertisements, customers can gain an insight into the merits of products being promoted and then make decisions whether to buy them or not. To illustrate, at the current times, advertisers are considering social media such as YouTube to be potential platforms, and for this reason, encountering dozens of advertisements whenever you are surfing YouTube is not something abnormal. I notice that if any promotion is repeated too many times, I will bear it in mind and somehow have a more positive perspective toward the product.

On the other hand, that more and more advertisements appear somehow leads to the neglect of the majority of customers. One particular reason for this, I suppose, might lie in the fact that people are occasionally interrupted while they are watching their favorite videos or are enjoying their time on social platforms. This is undeniably irritating and discomforting. Over a period, people can become more and more indifferent, and rather than purchasing the products, they would be prone to skip ads and show their hatred for them. Take my experience as an example. During my time on YouTube, I have always been disturbed by 2 or more ads in just one video, and to be honest, this appears to be quite upsetting.

All in all, the excessive promotions of a product can bring in customers’ inattention, yet it is also a catalyst for spreading the brands’ prestige and improving how customers perceive its products.