Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some believe that commercials induce people to make purchases; others feel that advertisements have become so commonplace that we simply ignore them. This essay discusses both of these perspectives, and why I believe that the case for the power of advertising is stronger.

There are two main arguments to support the strong influence of advertising. The first is that whatever gets advertised heavily seems to get purchased the most. We can see that the most popular brands of products that are advertised on TV and the Internet also seem to be the ones people are purchasing. Another popular argument is that companies would not advertise if it did not lead to sales. Commercials are extremely expensive and as companies keep running them, they must be successful otherwise the expenditure could not be justified.

However, some argue that we no longer pay attention to adverts. They argue that people do not see commercials on television because they switch to other tasks whenever they appear. For instance, when there is a commercial break during a TV show people often use it as an opportunity for a food run. Moreover, when people cannot avoid advertising they just ignore it. For instance, people have become so accustomed to popups and marketing content on the right side of the computer screen that they tend to just ignore anything that occupies this space.

In conclusion, I believe that both sides of the argument have merits. However, the case for the power of advertising is stronger. I think this is because advertising constantly evolves and finds creative ways to attract our attention and convince us of the need to buy a product.