Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Numerous people find advertising annoying, and many of them have developed the habit of skipping to other programs when seeing ads. Despite this fact, I believe marketing pundits always have other sophisticated tactics to so that their products or services can reach the customers successfully.

The proliferation of social media in conjunction with personal smart devices have boosted the pervasiveness of ads despite the fact that many people think the contents are irritating and irrelevant. It is annoying when advertisements suddenly pop up and interrupt the movies or news they are watching. While some people simply click the “skip” button, others install ad blocking software so that they will not be disturbed by distractive flashing banners or notices. Moreover, many advertisements appear randomly without aiming to any specific target. Recently, YouTube watchers have complained about the excessive occurrence of an advertisement for home remedies for kidney stones which crops up in almost all video clips ranging from children cartoons to scientific documents. This can be considered a paradigm of the irrelevance of advertising which reduces people’s attention to it.

Persuading buyers to buy something, nonetheless, is not simply showing the items or services before them. In fact, advertisers has invested considerable efforts and money to build more engrossing contents that attract more watchers. The images of young idols randomly using specific products like shoes or cosmetics might somewhat appeal to the senses of fans, hence the need for buying. Some other manufacturers even develop their short ads into film series with funny or meaningful stories. Those marketing tactics, to some extent, not only help marketers circumvent the drawbacks of old-fashioned advertising methods such as saying something repeatedly but also successfully make viewers actively click the ‘play’ button and decide to buy the items.

Generally, I think the ubiquity of advertising has become a part of modern life, and people will be affected to some degree, no matter they care about it or not. If producers want to thrive on a competitive market, they need to know how to present their products skillfully so that buyers will not be annoyed.