Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the significance of advertisements nowadays. While advertising is regarded to be too prevalent, I believe that it still plays a critical part in convincing people to purchase goods.

On the one hand, the excess frequency of occurrence of advertisements makes it an ubiquitous thing. That is because advertisements in numerous forms are widespread through social network platforms such as Youtube, Facebook or the media like television. However, after watching a dozen of advertisements, people soon get bored and eventually stop taking notice of them or even consider them as a mere every day routine. More specifically, there is a large number of advertisements which are placed before and in between videos to force viewers to watch; yet many of whom just click “Skip Ad” and continue on.

On the other hand, advertisements can act as a persuasive device to hypnotize people into buying things. In fact, advertisements are the combination between sound, colors and visual effects to bring viewers the most animate and the clearest image of the commodities. Hence, they can incentivize people’s curiosity at a push of the button. For example, advertisements of food which are designed to embrace mouth-watering images of that dish can stimulate them to feel hungry and end up with buying that food. Also, any advertisements with lovely cartoon characters can also be tempting to children who will wheedle their parents to buy products soon. Moreover, one of the prime goals of advertisements is providing customers with essential information about prices, operating principles of products as well as disclaiming distorted rumors which deplete the prestige of the brand. Therefore, there is no doubt about the fact that people have a preference to buy things with more dedicating customer service. Besides, there are about 92 percent of people believing in the introduction of other people, in particular the influential ones like prominent actors, singers, modals and more. As a result, using images of celebrities can also contribute to intensify not only turnover but also the prestige of the company.

In conclusion, advertisements are dominant in nearly all of the social media and not the whole of them can fulfil consumers’demand. While they are thought to be unnecessary, I still lean towards to the opinion that persuading people to buy things is attributed to the appearance of advertisements.