Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

It is true that economic development has both positive and negative effects. While it can be argued that economic growth is the only solution to improve hunger and poverty, I believe that it is necessary to defend the environment against unsustainable economic development.

On the one hand, there are those who believe that economic growth is a sole cure for people to alleviate poverty. Firstly, the development of economics offers many job opportunities. In this condition, people seek simply vocation which provides them with stable earning. Thus, they can eradicate poverty and afford the basic necessities of their life. Secondly, if many businesses are successful, they will contribute greatly to the national budget through the tax system. Authorities would use this fund to allocate for building houses for homeless people or doing charity. In this way, the government can save people from starvation and poverty.

On the other hand, I side with those who argue that rapid development is devasting to the nature surrounding. Firstly, in order to raise productivity, people have carried out many deeds that cause a negative effect on the environment. Farmers are using more chemicals in agriculture while factories are burning many fossil fuels and release millions of tons of emissions into the surrounding every year. This led to serious pollution in both the air environment and the water environment. Moreover, manufactories also create a huge amount of waste, which has an adverse impact on rivers and oceans. Take Formosa, a steel factory in Ha Tinh has resulted in massive death of fish in oceans in Ha Tinh province because of their garbage.

In conclusion, despite the undeniable advantage of economic growth, I firmly believe that unsustainable development should be stopped.