Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Our enjoyment of music dated back to the Stone Age, when objects were knocked against hard surface to produce sounds. We are intrinsic to hearing sounds that trigger our emotions and memories. Such ability is universal and facilitates the assembly of the minds of many, regardless of ages and nationalities. Hence I agree with the statement to a large extent.

First, music is boundless by one's religious belief, race, or any other factors. As simple as it is, one needs not to be a professional music analyst or experienced instrument player to find pleasure in listening to a music piece. Moreover, educational background is not a deciding factor in determining one's ability in creating music that others might resonate with. For instance, one might be revoked a sense of sorrow by hearing a music piece composed in Minor tone like Piazzolla's "Soledad". On the other hand, whenever Beethoven's Symphony no.5 is played, we might be instantly alerted and stressed. By listening to the same piece of music, it evokes a moment of shared sentiment when people find comfort in knowing they are not alone.

Albeit most people have their own musical preferences which might lead to biases against certain genres, there also lies a chance of mutual understanding by distinguishing the differences. Whilst beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, one can always get to know the others by contemplating what their tastes in music say about them. For example, hearing an unusual music written in Pentatonic Scale, one might tell the listener's interest in Asian cultures. Thus it opens a window of communication which leads to one another discussion in traveling to Asia and the exotic cuisines.

In conclusion, the power of music lies beyond cultures and ages. All human beings are inherent to enjoy it and hence facilitates cohesion and brings people together in unison.