Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is said that travelling and working are the only reasons for learning a foreign language, while others believe there are some other purposes alongside these two reasons for learning a new language. In this essay, I will discuss these statements.

Some individuals may not find quality time to allocate learning other languages. In this fast-changing world, people have hectic lifestyles, because they have to work from early in the morning to late at night to meet their needs due to the increasing inflation rate and economic recession, especially in deprived countries. So, if people have a chance to find leisure time, they absolutely will spend this time with their family and intimate friends. Besides, money is a vital matter to learning a new language. Individuals who live in impoverished areas suffer from financial issues and a large number of them, to make ends meet have to work overtime. Consequently, they could not afford to pay fees for these courses.

On the other hand, some individuals are learning other foreign languages just for personal fulfilment. They have a sense of curiosity and are drawn by foreign institutions, cultures and countries so, to access this information, they would have to pursue any non-native book and news which motivate them to learn other foreign languages. Furthermore, with having basic knowledge of other non-native languages, individuals could easily expand their circle of friends. As a result of mass media, people could make friends with other people who speak a different language by social networking and sending instant messages, which could play a crucial role in strengthening the social bond. However, they could use a translated version of books or news to be familiar with various aspects of other nations and adopt other captivating ways to make friends, like mutual friends.

In conclusion, I believe that because of issues with time and money, people could give priority to learning non-native language only when they have work and travel purposes.