Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

These days, studying a or some oversea languages has become one of the prioritisements for many individuals. However, many people believe that the main reason behind this is so as to travel or work in another nation while others assume that there are more causes to this development. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion.

On the one hand, it is obvious that one of the major causes of learning a new and strange language is in order to work and visit other countries. Firstly, people have to learn a forgein language when they work in a new nation. This is because without knowledge about its major language, they would suffer from difficulties in communicating and interacting with others, especially their chiefs and colleagues. Hence, they would not have many friends in that country and feel extremely stressed. Moreover, they could become patients of racism or bullying and be isolated. In addition, when people visit to another country, they can enrich their knowledge about that country if they know it's language.

On the other hand, it can not be denied that there are other reasons to explain why people study a foreign language. The most pivotal cause is that some languages are compulsory in many educational programmes. For example, Vietnamese pupils must learn English since they were in elementary schools and they even have to pass an English exam if they dream of further education such as universities. Another reason is that many large companies today tend to choose interviewees with great language abilities. As a result, if people wish to have a well-paid job and promotions, they must be good at foreign languages.

In conclusion, learning an oversea language has been a trend among individuals. Nevertheless, many people firmly believe that the main reason for this development is for travelling and working purposes in other countries while in my viewpoint, there are further causes that lead to this trend.