Some people say that parents have the most significant influence in a child’s development. However, others say that things like television or friends have the most important influence on them.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

While it is believed by some individuals that parents play the most important role in the holistic development of their children, others believe that friends and possessions like television have a huge impact on them. I believe that both arguments have some valid points which will be discussed in the further paragraphs; however, I agree with the former notion because parents are considered the major role models, who imbibe a habit of good behaviour in their children.

On the one hand, the most presumable reason why some people say that parents have the most vital impact on children’s development is that parents teach them all the behavioural skills in the initial days of their learning. In other words, parents instil all the essential habits in their children ranging from feeding, talking to behaving. Therefore, most children learn these skills effectively and continue to grow with learning at every stage of their life from their parents. In most families, for example, after the birth of a child, parents usually take care of their babies and continue to teach them all basic skills such as praying god and respecting elders from the beginning.

On the other hand, some homo sapiens opine that television and friends have a pivotal effect on the development of children. Perhaps, they say this because children minds are highly vulnerable and after a certain age they start following their friends and inculcate the things what they learn from watching several movies and TV programs in their day to day life. For instance, some children start performing fitness exercises to develop a healthy physique after being attracted to some renowned actor’s physiques on the television.

To conclude, although people may vary in their opinion as to whether parents or friends are helpful in the overall development of children, I consider parents to be the most essential guide in children’s life because they teach them all the skills which are indispensable for the children development.