Some people say that subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing are more beneficial to children and therefore they need more of these subjects to be included in the timetable. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the school curriculum of students have been quite dense, therefore, what kinds of subjects to be included in the timetable have become a controversial concern. I strongly believe that disciplines such as arts, music, drama and creative writing should be placed in the studying program at school because of their enormous benefits.

On the one hand, these informal subjects can make significant contributions to the improvement of students’ social skills. It is obvious that these subjects get involves in the coördination between numbers of students, which will create a perfect environment and more opportunities to help students widen their social circle of relationship. For example, when playing in a music team, children can have more chances to meet and make friend with a wide variety of other people. As a result, they could improve considerably their communication skills.

On the other hand, these kinds of disciplines have positive impacts on not only social aspects but also students’ career in the future. In fact, academic subjects such as mathematics, literature cannot provide enough practical skills such as team-work skills, report writing skills which play a vital role in their works in the latter on. For instance, students participating in a class of creative writing will be good at writing skills, which plays an important role in finishing the tasks of writing reports and relevant documentaries. The result is that they would be able to adapt more easily to the working environment, after that they would gain more success in their works.

In conclusion, subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing can bring many benefits to students’ practical skills as well as their success in the future. Therefore, these disciplines should be included in the school curriculum.