Some people say that what children watch influences their behaviour. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behaviour most. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

It is clear that watching TV affects children, but it is hard to decide whether a content of a TV program or spending a lot of time on watching TV influences children more than another. In my view, TV programs’ contents deeply impact children more than the time of watching TV.

On the one hand, watching television for a long time can cause bad consequences to the young. Firstly, children who are frequently exposed to television easily become addicted to watching TV. As a result, they may sit on a sofa and rivet their eyes on TV programs for entertainment all day, thus they might neglect engagement in outdoor activities. This would result in sedentary lifestyle which is detrimental to their physical health. Secondly, being over-reliant on television might impair children’s communication abilities because they have an insufficiency in interaction with other people and seem to be isolated from the outside world. Besides, they may have a higher risk of developing autism who has bad social skill due to their timidity and reservedness.

On the other hand, the content of TV program may have negative repercussions on younger viewers. Interacting with inappropriate television’s contents for children who is too young to be aware of what they should watch or not might lead to a propensity to imitate exactly what is depicted on television. For example, some inappropriate materials like violence, drug abuse or casual sex can result in some mental impairments for youngsters, so they may have some violent actions or bad habits which resemble what broadcasted on television. In addition, this thing may be a considerable cause for an increase in crime rates.

I strongly believe that the content of TV program importantly affects shaping a child’s personality. Hence, parental involvement is essential in controlling children’s TV viewing habits and may help them to grow with a healthy mind.