In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects

(eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

When given the choice of subjects that students want to learn, there is a common tendency that girls normally enroll in arts classes why boys like to attend science courses. In my opinion, this phenomenon can be explained by two main reasons which will be discussed in following paragraphs and this situation need to be changed.

The aforementioned tendency can be attributable to two main elements. Firstly, the choice of subjects depends on gender-specific personalities and competence which renders a gender attracted to a particular subject rather than another. For instance, female students are usually interested in subjects which require tremendous self-discipline and patience like foreign language classes while male students are often capable of thinking logically which enables them to have a better grasp of analytical subjects such as maths, physics. In addition, many students may become impregnated with traditional perception which indicates that a gender can only excel at certain subjects and not others. As a result, they choose their subjects based on advice from their parents, relatives or society.

In my view, this tendency should be altered immediately. Students should persuade subjects with their true passion, instead of advice from the others. If students study a subject they are not into or don’t have ability in the subject, it's really hard to pass the examination and they would make a wrong choice about their future career. Additionally, freely choosing subjects which rely on their hobbies would progressively dispel the misconception that the sciences is suitable for boys while the arts is appropriate for girls.

In conclusion, the trend and social stereotypes about each gender may affect student’s subject choice. Therefore, it is necessary to shift the tendency so that students may be free to study courses which they aspire.