Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A highly debated issue today relates to weather to permit students at university level to decide any subject they like or let the college restrict the subjects they study as it is beneficial later in career life. In this essay, I am going to examine these questions from both points of view and then give my own opinion.

On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that the benefits of a defined curriculum by university considerably outweigh its advantages. The main reason for believing this is that college set those study options based one research and consultation of subject matter expert. It is also possible to say that, topics are related to the career path which student will practice after graduation. One good illustration of this is, students will be assigned task and duties in their future job, which they will easily complete, as they are well prepared back in college.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact the selection of subjects can be widely open to the student choice. People often have this opinion because student will have the freedom to add subjects to study semester based on what topics they excel. A second point is that they can add topics from adjacent study fields to increase their chances of landing a job after leaving college. A particular good example here is Telecommunication and computer engineering as both are similar in some subjects.

In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that university must set those subjects. This is because deciding those topics is critical and are set after careful consideration and revision by professors and experts from top companies.