Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The dynamics of education have changed dramatically around the world in the last few decades. Students should have the freedom to study as per their own choice according to one school of thought while others believe that it should be compulsory to follow a systematic structure of academic studies which holds the demand in near future. As far as I consider, students should be provided a range of subjects according to their interest which could help them to excel in their career.

First and foremost, specific skills are more important than theoretical studies nowadays. Employers require knowledge related to a particular job instead of random studies. That is how university students can identify a job of their interest and acquire a comprehensive knowledge of only that field of work. As a result, this practice will allow them to enhance their capabilities and expertise in their work. European countries, for instance, Denmark, Finland, and Sweden have an education system when they allow the students to choose any field of interest to study like art, science, and language at their earlier schooling and pursue till graduation instead of studying those subjects which they are not going to use in their professional life.

Conversely, some science subjects are dominant in the educational system worldwide. Most students feel the need for that knowledge at a certain point in their lives such as the usage of computer technologies, mechanical and medical-related items to get a better understanding of them. That is why it is better to have basic information about all the subjects as they are useful for daily life as well. Rather illustrative examples are multinational companies such as Samsung, Sony, Microsoft, and Apple that are inventing and innovating Hi-Tech products. These gadgets require basic knowledge of technology and students can learn such information in their academic life.

I am of the opinion that students should be provided subjects to study at universities which are crucial for their careers as other random knowledge can be obtained by other sources like magazines, newspapers and social media as well if required.

The conclusion to be drawn is that the job market is more narrow and specific to work these days and students show have the freedom to opt for subjects as per field requirements; however, other subjects are also important for daily lifestyle as they encompass knowledge of science and technology.