Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The world’s standards have changed dynamically around the world in the last few decades. Certain demographics hold the statement that governments should take initiatives in all different developments of the society instead of, only focusing on the economy of the country. I personally believe that it is equally essential to pay attention to all aspects of social progress as they are strongly dependent on each other.

Undoubtedly, the economy of the country is an imperative indicator of growth and development. Progress and sustainability of many sectors rely on the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of the country. As a result, governments find it crucial to give special attention to the growth of the economy. World Bank, for instance, issues an index every year regarding the possible impacts on the economy of the world as it would define that how other sectors will perform during the year.

Conversely, other sectors are also equally paramount for human development and good governance in the country. The prosperity of the country is directly proportionate with the proper functionality of all the sectors and departments as they exclusively support the country. Subsequently, it helps the government to deal with many inevitable challenges. A rather illustrative example is America. They have the most powerful economy in the world but they are lacking in their medical and social security system which is lagging them behind.

I am of the opinion that government should pay enough attention to all challenges of the country as it would help to get the better pace of overall progress as many developed European countries like Finland and Iceland have set the example for the rest of the world.

The conclusion to be drawn is that many governments consider the economy-oriented achievements of the country as overall success; however, they should not overlook other sectors as they also contribute a lot to the prosperity of the country.