Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that students should choose any subjects that they want to study at university. Whilst others disagree and think it would be better if the university forced students into certain useful areas related to their future careers. I believe that students should be at liberty to study whatever they like.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why people supposed that restricting student’s options to only inevitable subjects is necessary. Initially, fields such as science and technology can provide a large of employment opportunities with better salaries, and therefore graduated students will have a higher quality of life. For example, numerous young people with technological degrees tend to earn a huge income when they work for tech giants such as Google and Facebook, which have a high demand for this type of job. Secondly, these occupations could benefit society. It seems that the world always needs new inventions, medicine, and economic growth.

However, I believe that selecting which disciplines to learn at university should be the freedom of students. If students have passion for what they are learning, they will achieve better learning outcomes. For instance, when students desire to learn about art, they will devote their whole energy to chasing their dreams, subsequently, it is likely to have a great result. Besides, the freedom to pursue the subjects that students like can help them identify their career interests. As a result, society will have a diversity of employees, not only in science or technology but also in music, tourism, and other sectors.

In conclusion, despite some arguments for the university to limit students’ choices to study a few key disciplines related to their careers, I agree with the idea that students should choose whichever they like to learn.