Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

There is no doubt universities play a crucial role in educating society. However, while some believe that this education should be geared exclusively towards subjects that may be of practical use in the future, I would agree with those who argue that one’s choice of degree should lie with the student.

Firstly, it is vital that universities equip our workforce with scientists, engineers and other professionals that enable our society to progress. This is because a country without such experts is a country without the means to plan, create or maintain essential features of modern life. For instance, if we did not have university-educated engineers, we would not enjoy such public transport facilities and infrastructure as subway, trams and bridges. The argument goes that if students are allowed to choose what they want to study, then there will be a shortage of these important workers.

However, I believe allowing students to choose what they want to study is the only way to acquire motivated, passionate, and thus competent professionals. The reason for this is that free choice provides people with a sense of autonomy, and research has shown that autonomy is a necessary catalyst for drive and enthusiasm. As a result, students have the impetus to master their subject rather than merely aim for good enough. Conversely, if universities force students into one category of study, then the drive for mastery that would have come with pursuing their passion will disappear.

In conclusion, although it is of critical importance that universities continue to supply society with professionals in the fields of technology and science, I feel that it should be the student’s choice to do so on the basis that this will give t