Some people think that arts is an essential subject at schools while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Societies with arts in heritage have long been culturally sophisticated and advanced as it is the pride of a nation. A few people put forward the argument that arts should be included in the school curriculum as an important subject but others merely regard it a wastage of time. According to me art should be taught at school.

On the one hand, some people has argued that arts waste the time of students and should not be mandatory due to many potential reasons. First of all, if students would get enough grades or credits in the class then they can enter in colleges and universities for diligent study as most of the students love arts over other subjects such as science, social study, mathematics and many more which are main subjects.As a result, emphasizing more on arts would be detrimental of other significant subjects. What is more, Focusing on all subjects can make them able to get overall knowledge about every field that is demanding in this fast-paced world instead of having interest about arts only. Secondly, Today people have degrees from prestigious universities as well as have proficient knowledge and experience about a particular field to get lucrative jobs in the future. However, minority of people appreciate arts jn these days and less employment opportunities are there in this field. That is why, arts should not be a compulsory subject because people can not earn sufficient money from this nowadays. Finally, interests are different person to person and a group of people can not accept a same thing instead they would prefer everything as per their interest as in a class some students might not love arts then they would be compelled to learn arts whether they are not keen to learn. Therefore, it should be optional so that students who are not interested can concentrate on their areas of interest.

On the other hand, I believe that learning arts provides a number of benefits to students that i am going to demonstrate. Firstly, in today’s materialistic world both genders are working and in the evening they watch TV shows to recharge their batteries but if artists would not be appreciated then they can not entertain us. Hence, To promote the hidden talent of the students teacher should infuse arts properly as most of the writers, singers and actors become out of school, especially, when they get chance to participate in different arts and after growing up they represent their country. Besides, it makes students creative and imaginative as students brainstorm to paint anything which increases intelligence and pose a positive impact on fellow students. Additionally, Artists make the country beautiful and contributes at large in changing the minds of people throughout their arts as arts are the repository of collective memories of a society. For example- there are some bad evils prevailing in the society such as Dowery system and female feticide that is a negative thing for a country as both genders are not treated equally. Whereas, arts divert people’s minds towards good thinking that is a big influence.

To conclude, although focusing too much on arts looses the interest on other subjects yet i think that arts and sculptures are also important for students to learn and grow as a responsible citizen of the country.