About how to improve road safety, some people think that the best way is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars and motorcycles. In my opinion, I do not think this is the best way to reduce road risk. This essay will discuss the disadvantages of it and other feasible methods.

Although increasing the minimum legal age for driving is a good way to improve road safety, it has its own shortcomings in some respects. From the point of my view, I think there are two reasons. Firstly, solving the problem about underage driving do not equal to improving road safety. Road risk can result from all kinds of factors. Only focus on the damage of underage driving to road safety cannot solve this problem completely. Secondly, increasing the minimum legal age for driving do not guarantee that no young kids under the minimum legal age will drive on roads. For most of people, they still have little knowledge of the law. It is very often for us to ignore the laws about ourselves. Besides, young people are very impulsive to break the law to for momentary pleasure. Therefore, I do not think increasing the minimum legal age for driving is the best way to solve this problem.

I think there are not only increasing the minimum legal age for driving but also other ways to solve this problem. For example, firstly, people can launch some education campaigns about road safety to raise their awareness of road safety. Our consciousness always represents our action. Only when people’s awareness is raised can their actions be regulated. Secondly, I think governments can establish a complete set of reward and punishment system. For example, the officers can praise the people who follow the rules or report others’ violations, and fine those who break the rules. I think this system can be a motivation for people to drive more carefully.

In conclusion, we need to improve road safety by increasing the minimum legal age for driving, but there are still many other methods to solve this problem. Only multiple ways to do it together, can we achieve our goal of improving road safety.