Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, opinions are divided regarding whether raising the minimum driving age is the most effective way to enhance road safety. In my point of view, I am opposed to such an idea since it does not comprehensively address the main culprit of traffic accidents and other measures are needed.

Adjusting the minimum required driving age might be advocated since the youth are not mature and experienced enough to handle dangerous situations on the road. Therefore, raising the legal age for getting a driver's license enables youngsters to practice more, ensuring their abilities to deal with different driving scenarios. However, such reasoning is flawed as the lack of expert driving skills is only one of the many causes of traffic accidents. Irresponsible driving habits such as speeding and driving under the influence of alcohol or inadequate transport infrastructure also endanger road users. Increasing the legal driving age only has partial impact in improving road safety; thus the aforementioned idea should be rejected

In lieu of intervening in driving age, other viable solutions should be adopted to curb road incidents. First of all , governments should expend money on regular road maintenance. In fact, there are numerous road casualties due to the poor condition of roads’ surface; hence upgrading the quality of road’s systems is essential to protect road drivers. Moreover, stringent control and regulations should be imposed on driving offenses. For example, there should be more traffic wardens appointed to manage and punish drivers breaking the rules. As a result, they will fear gaining further punishment and avoid re -offending.

In conclusion, raising the minimum is not the most sensible action to develop road safety and other proposals should be considered.