Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. However, others believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion ?

A criminal rate has been increasing nowadays, which will be the disaster to our world. There has always been considerable discussion about how to tackle the problem of crime. We have many ways to solve this problem from the simplest one to the cruelest one. In my opinion, all the solution are of the same importance to control illegalities.

On the one hand, the longer prison terms for the criminals is important to reduce crime. In the past few years, the number of crime has been exploding because of the short prison term. The offender doesn’t care about being committed to prison. They think being in there for few years is just a short vacation out of a noisy city while living in a luxury hotel, serving 2-3 course meal a day. So the long-term of prison will be the cruelest way to the suspect but will be the best way to stop them from breaking the law. For instance, Filipinos are get used to their law which is giving the longer prison terms for the criminal if they break the law. The rate of criminal in their country has been decreasing rapidly in these years because of the longer prison term.

On the other hand, being arrested and committed in a prison for a long-term also is not a good ideal for the government. In the research of scientist in Mexico, there’s a state that their country doesn’t have enough prison for committing the offender. So there is another way to solve this problem, that is investing money in running propaganda campaigns in which means citizens aware of the importance of rehabilitation opportunities for ex-prisoners after serving jail sentences. Therefore, even the offender has been released, they still have a job and won’t come back to the life of crime. They also are welcomed and encouraged in creating a positive lifestyle by the civilian.

In conclusion, giving the longer prison term still is playing a part in preventing illegal actions. But we still have many improvement ways to solve this problem. To me, reforming the offenders, giving them a job and helping them aware of their revising illegal actions still is the best solution to this complication