Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family-run business?

It is clear that family-owned business has become more common than ever. While this type of company is advocated by many people, there still exist many limitations.

There are certain benefits of running a business within the family. First, since family-run firms are operated by family members such as spouses or relatives, they would have absolute ownership and control over the company. As a result, family takes full responsibility of all important decisions such as strategies, payrolls, human resources, etc. without the interference of any outside parties. In addition, family businesses also have greater sense of commitment and accountability than non-family ones. This is because the former is built from the trust and close-knit relationship between family members, thus they are likely to stay together in any circumstances, especially during the non-profitable stage.

However, there are some negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. The major disadvantage is that family-owned companies might sabotage family relationships. For example, the younger generation in the family might tend to take more risks or invest in new companies, whereas the older just want to play safe and focus on traditional firms, leading to a quarrel or even an avoidable family estrangement. Moreover, the working environment of family-run firms is more likely to be unfair to non-family employees. In other words, the efforts of those people might not be recognized properly even if they perform exceptionally well, which results in apathetic, unenthusiastic and disengaged staff.

In conclusion, there are both merits and demerits of family businesses. One should carefully consider these points before choosing a suitable business type.