Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family-run business?

Family businesses are quite popular in various nations. Handful of individuals believe that the joint venture have higher chance of success whereas others argue that this will result in many problems in nearby future. The advantages and disadvantages will be ascribed in forthcoming paragraphs.

On the constructive part, the most prominent merit is long-term goals. This long-term perspective allows for good strategy and decision making. For instance, the CEO of the multinational company Nike are two brothers who are working hard for their upcoming generation to be more famous branded company all over the world. Moreover, the family members working at family firms are willing to contribute their own finances to ensure the long-term success of the organization and this would be advantageous during economic downturns, where it's necessary to tighten the belt in order to survive the business. Hence, the long-term motives and declined expenses are profitable for business within the family.

On the destructive part, there are the various pitfalls of family firms. Conflict is bound to happen at family relationships. Deep-seated, long lasting bitter fights due to dividing of profits would effect every single person within the firm and can draw divisive lines because family members are involved, conflict can be more difficult to solve and can result in difficult endings. To exemplify, in 2005, a famous dispute between the sons of reliance industries divided India's largest petrochemical manufacturer. Thus, the joint venture would attribute to conflicts in the relationships.

To recapitulate, indubitably the family business is beneficial for handful of people but the disadvantages cannot be ignored as fights could be created within the blood relationships.