Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that community jobs need to be done by specific detainers without paying them rather than keeping them in prison. I partly agree with this opinion and think that although free labour force is beneficial for the government, it has fatal consequences without sufficient supervision.

There is no doubt that to have a free workforce is a huge advantage for the authority. With these inmates, jobs related to communities could be achieved fast and profitable. these captives often serve as a construction worker or streetcleaner to enhance government services. For example, The Department of criminal Justice at the Commonwealth of Virginia reported in 2016 that %70 of labour done by people who have minor criminal records made government able to establish railway for a new station without paying external construction services.

it is becoming more and more evident that prisoners tend to perform violations toward a society in poor monitoring. Because of their long prison sentences or their violent nature, these jobs are a perfect opportunity to sustain their criminal acts. For instance, The Ministry of Education in the UK stated in 2017 that % 27 of the prisoner in the construction of new school building near to old one performed both verbal and physical abuse towards children. Therefore it is certainly understandable to keep these prisoners in jail to prevent more dangerous situations.

In conclusion, even though prisoners work has benefits in several fields, I think these criminal's backgrounds should carefully be examined before they violate the law again.