Some people think that government funding should not be spent for supporting art, and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Resources allocated towards artistic and cultural activities have come under increasing scrutiny as many people believe that governments needlessly divert federal grants away from more essential areas. Despite ostensibly legitimate defenses underpinning this sentiment, I would contend that this development is beneficial in the aggregate for various socio-economic advantages.

Those who decry investments in arts and culture often point to the more pressing matters which should be prioritized. One illustration of this is that in order to effectively promote culture, millions must be spent on erecting galleries, and organizing media campaigns. The incurred costs, therefore, could reduce the governmental treasuries and funds for public services which must be evenly distributed to wider segments of society. However, this claim is questionable in its statistical validity as such investments appear somewhat negligible on a federal scale. For example, in 2017 legislative appropriations to state projects and jurisdictional arts agencies in the US aggregated about $350 million which translated to less than $1.5 per capita or roughly 0.05% of the total state budget.

In addition, this development should be seen as progress thanks to its resultant economic stimulation and social catalyst. This sentiment rests on the idea that arts make the public spaces more vibrant, and efficiently transform them into forums for civic discourses and public activities; thus , leveraging urban revitalization, strengthening social capital, and fostering community cohesion. From an economic standpoint, a strong arts sector is a valuable asset that stimulates business activity, facilitates tourism across a divergent range of industries. In fact, the 2015 annual report published by the Census Bureau has revealed that arts and cultural production has become a predominant economic driver that unilaterally constituted $750 billion of national GDP on average, far surpassing both transportation and construction. At the same time, the employment opportunities and tax revenues can be redirected towards other areas and help alleviate some degrees of poverty and crime rates.

In conclusion, given the relatively insignificant fiscal concerns, I believe that this practice should be deemed beneficial as it greatly contributes to economic prosperity and social