Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While several people against the idea of spending the national budget on aesthetic or cultural activities, there are many others, including me, believe that these activities can bring a wide range of beneficial impacts on not only the community but also the culture itself. Both of the pre-mentioned points of view will be addressed in this essay

On the one hand, one could draw the conclusion that government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture due to various reasons. For the most part, one explanation that remarkably stands out is the expenditure priority. There seems to be no doubt that social and economic development should be the prerequisite when it comes to governmental expenses. Therefore, spending on aesthetic and cultural advancement can lead to insufficient funding when necessitated. By the way of illustration, expenditure on preserving paintings can be used to construct more academic institutions in remote regions so that local people can access to education without any difficulty

Nevertheless, there is a variety of justifications for the beneficial effects of art and cultural activities on the population and culture itself. The first and foremost reason is that art and culture play a pivotal role in the mental well-being of humanity. It does not seem unreasonable to suggest that people are less likely to suffer from psychological illnesses namely autism or depression if they have a healthy spiritual life. Another worth-considering reason is that these activities made a great contribution to preserve cultural diversity. In such a globalised world where the intersection between cultures is more and more intense, cultural identity is faded more straightforwardly than ever. Hence, maintaining them through cultural exhibits can be a good means of conservation and deserve government financial support

In conclusion, one could claim that national funding should be spent on more important issues rather than art and culture. However, I believe that cultural activities require government financial support due to their benefits on people' mental life as well as their contribution to preserving cultural diversity