Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that government funds should not be invested in art and cultural activities. Other people, however, believe that backing art and culture is advantageous. In my view, I agree that funding for art and culture is beneficial and this essay will discuss both points of view.

On the one hand, many people think that spending on cultural activities is waste because there are more burning social issues need to be addressed. For example, the poor-rate in many countries, especially Africa, is one of the major reason for the increased number of deaths. South Sudan alone, having more 1.1 million people live in poor status, more than 100,000 residents in here are at risk of dying of malnutrition. Using money for food aid purposes and supporting agriculture would help save thousands of lives. In addition, unemployment is also a painful problem in society and this is harmful to the national economy. Therefore, authorities should use their resources to combat this issue such as expenditure on education to improve labour quality, organize vocational sessions and support businesses. So, there is no point to waste governmental budget for recreational purposes.

On the other hand, some people in favour of the government's expenditure on art and culture due to the great benefits they bring. Firstly, in the era of globalization, it helps to preserve a country's unique culture. For instance, water puppet festivals in VietNam have helped conserve the distinct Vietnamese arts since the 11th century. Furthermore, cultural events attract an influx of tourist to the country and that clearly bring about economic values. For example, Foreigners visit Germany for beer festivals and the Carnival in Rio de Janerio, an annual festival promoting Brazilian culture, injects billions of dollars into economies of both countries every year thanks to tourism.

In conclusion, although there are people opposed to government investing in art and culture programs, it is necessary for the authorities to continue encouraging them because of their undeniable benefits.