Some people think government should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help people prevent illness and disease. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is perceived by many that if governments focus on reducing pollution of environment as well as issues related houses, disease and illness can be prevented. Personally, I partly agree with the opinion.

With regard to the positiveness of the matter, there are some benefits of reducing environmental pollution and housing issues. The first merit is that if governments carry out many practical solutions to protect environment such as constructing more green fields in cities and decreasing the number of vehicles traveling on streets, the air tend to be cleaner and fresher. Therefore, people can prevent illness caused by polluted air. For example, those who live in a clean country such as Singapore tend to less get sick caused by dirty air, compared to other countries which are less clean than it. The second merit is that when housing matters are solved, people can stop causes of health problems. Indeed, if there are more houses or apartments in countries, residents will have more spaces to live. As a result, people will not concentrate at some places, which declines the infection between people if infectious diseases happen.

Besides protecting residents’ health by dealing with pollution and housing trouble, governments can do more various ways to improve health of their citizens. The first one is that governments can do useful propagandas about doing exercise which brings a lot of benefits for people’s health. Moreover, residents need to be aware of keeping their health by themselves before governments do anything to help them. As a result, problems related health can be tackled with their efforts. For instance, those who often go to gym have a tendency to be healthy, so they are not easy to get common sick such as fever or snivel. The second solution is governments should invest their budgets in medical researches so that people can treat the sickness efficiently.

In conclusion, I partly agree with the opinion that people can prevent illness and disease if governments only focus on resolving environmental pollution and housing issues because there are more different useful solutions for health problem as aforementioned analysis.