Some people think that the governmnet is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Critics throughout both the developing and developed world have debated whether government's investment on art works should be allocated to other areas. Alongside the arguments from both views, the latest discoveries from Hong Kong have provided some insights into this controversy topic. This essay will discuss both sides using these examples to demonstrate points.

To being with, the extravagant maintenance cost is intuitively perceived as a hindrance of supporting unpopular art industry in the modern society. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, the requisition of prestigious art works usually require high costs. Secondly, the art museums usually have comparably low visiting rate than other community facilities. In fact, a significant number of countries have wasted vast amount of national budget for the establishment of art museums, which turned out being closed down due to the negligible number of visitors. Moreover, it must not be forgotten that although some countries have prevalence over the art industry, the income collected from the art centers far outnumbered the expenditure required for the maintenance. Consistent with this line of thinking, the investment on art works would further stress the finances of the governments. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the national budget should be invested to other sectors.

In spite of the aforementioned drawbacks, the upside of supporting art industry cannot be ignored. This is largely because the promotion of national images by art works can attract the tourists, which can in turn increase government's income. For instance, there has been evidently a surge in the number of international visitors since 2008 after the establishment of art museums in Hong Kong. Admittedly, the increase of global visitors can temporarily help boost the economy; however, the expenditure required for the support of art industry is still too overwhelming to be spent persistently. Seen in this light, the government should divert the money to other local businesses instead to stabilize the economy in long term.

In conclusion, arts has a pivotal role to play in terms of government's income, yet, investing money on this in long run could have a detrimental effect on citizens' living standard. Given that the local businesses are weakening, it is predicted that the government will close down the art museums and allocate those budgets to other sectors in the foreseeable future.