Do you think the consumer should avoid over packed products or it is the responsibility of the producer to avoid extra packaging of products?

Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

It has become popular that manufacturers produce products that are packed with extra packaging for convenience and for boosting the sale figures. Although consumers can choose products with less packaging, in my opinion, it should be manufacturers’ obligation to avoid applying extra packaging for their products because of the reasons below.

First of all, consumers often have limited choices in choosing unpacked products. What this means is that in modern society where most of the people are busy at work, workers with extended working hours often do not have time to purchase products from places where unpacked products are available. Take Hong Kong as example. Most workers have to buy vegetables with packaging from supermarkets because wet markets are usually closed at the time when workers are off duty.

Another reason why I believe the manufacturer should avoid extra packaging is that the packaging is often made with plastic; it is toxic and is not biodegradable. Overly applying such packaging can be detrimental to both human beings and the environment. In fact, it has been scientifically proven that it takes over 100 years for the plastic to be degraded by the environment. Using less packaging can largely help reduce the pollution on the environment and thus can improve human’s health.

In conclusion, I believe that it is the manufacturers’ responsibility to apply less packaging in order to protect the environment.