Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Critics throughout both the developed and developing countries have debated whether it is good for some companies to make an investment on sports industry for the sake of promoting their own brands. Although there are some advantages for such actions, I would argue that the disadvantages are dominating.

To begin with, the downsides for companies to sponsor physical activities are outstanding. The most striking problem is the manipulation of professional sportsmen which impact their performance in sports. To increase the brand images, some companies which invest money on the sports industry often invite well-received sportsmen for selling their products for enhancing their brandings. They exploit the positive images of those sportsmen to promote their products in advertisements, which might as a result direct their focus from sports training to the ads. In long run, their performance might be impacted due to the insufficient practices, affecting the global ranking.

Despite the arguments above, the upsides of sponsorship, meanwhile, cannot be neglected. Undoubtedly in materialized societies, money is necessary to improve facilities and train athletes. Investment made by companies can definitely foster development of sports, boosting the performance of sportsmen for participating in international competitions such as Olympics Games. By seeing those professional athletes in the global championship, not only may the talented young sportsmen be attracted to enter the profession sports field, but companies which make the sponsorship can enhance its own brand images as well, subsequently reaching more new customers and thus increasing its profits.

To sum up, as far as I am concerned, the drawbacks of sports sponsorship far outweigh benefits, which are viable if the government can allocate enough resources and supports to. Moreover, government should also regulate the advertisement to mitigate the drawbacks occurred due to companies’ investment.