Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that growing up in the usage of computers and mobile phones for communication could set a bad effect on teenagers’ reading and writing skills. There are some drawbacks to this trend, but I would argue this is a positive trend.

On the one hand, the increase in private device usage could make the youngster become dependent on those devices. With the development of technology in this era, the way people communicate is much different from before. For that reason, young people use modern technology devices in almost part of their life such as chatting, doing homework, or reading books instead of traditional methods. For example, students this day usually do their homework on the computer, which means they do not have to read and write on paper anymore. This stuff could affect those pupils reading and writing abilities.

On the other hand, using private computers and mobile phones for communication brings young people a great number of benefits. First and foremost, it could help students to improve their reading and writing speed or even to develop their brains in various ways. Take reading books as an example, teenagers use private computers and mobile phones to read books, which could not only provide them with a large amount of knowledge in the shortest time but also assist them in enhancing reading speed because they can adjust the number of words when they read. In addition, the education system in most countries still lets students read and write on paper. In this case, communicating by using private computers and mobile phones would help teenagers to be better at reading and writing skills. For instance, students in class still have to do the homework in the traditional method and they can take advance of using mobile phones to study.

All things considered, although there are some negative effects of communicating by private devices but its advantages outweigh the disadvantages in developing young people reading and writing skills.