Some people think that the Internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the modern world, the influence of the Internet has been a matter of great concern. While some people agree that cyberspace makes users and society are gradually becoming separated, I still support the idea that the Internet brings more advantageous to individuals in daily life.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why some critics contend that the availability of new communication technologies can have the result of isolating people and discouraging real interaction. For example, many young people choose to make friends online rather than mixing with their peers in the real world, and these ‘virtual’ relationships are a poor substitute for real friendships. In addition, overwhelming reliance on the Internet makes them unwilling participate in social activities which significantly contribute to their separation from society.

On the other hand, I still personally support the statement that the Internet has the own advantages. Cooperation between people in different countries was much more difficult when communication was limited to written letters or telegrams. Nowadays, interactions by email, phone or video are almost as good as face-to-face meetings, and many of us benefit from these interactions, either in work or social contexts. This is well illustrated by the fact that through Facebook, one of the biggest social networking sites, users might easily connect and talk with people who have the same idols, the same interest in fashion or showbiz, regardless they are in different country. Therefore, it is true that the Internet has unseparated part of our life.

In conclusion, although the cyberspace makes people more isolated from their society, this tool perhaps makes their life easier due to connecting people in different part of the world.