Giving lectures in auditoriums to large numbers of students is an old way of teaching. With the technology available today, there is no justification for it, and everything should be done online. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, with the rapid development of technology, people hold different views about whether modern learning should be done in traditional schools or online. I totally disagree with the idea that people should replace the old teaching method with online programs for the following reasons.

First of all, It is true that learners need directly talking with lectures to help them remember and fully understand learning material. In a traditional school, students have the opportunity to ask and get answers almost immediately from their teachers. Furthermore, individuals tend to absorb not only academic knowledge but also moral lessons such as politeness, honesty, respect toward older people in educational institutions, which may be difficult to transmit through the Internet. In contrast, students obtaining knowledge through the Internet might not deeply understand these lessons. This is because these ones seem to hardly receive immediate feedback from their teachers via online and sometimes, the network has problems lead to difficult to communicate each other.

Secondly, the other outstanding benefit of classroom learning is that it creates a motivation for learners. In a big class, students are surrounded by other students who also want to score higher grades. This encourages them to work harder and perform better than self – study on the Internet. On the contrary, students follow online courses might lack motivation and supervision to watch the online lectures and fully prepared for the final exam. For example, Udemy, the online learning company, found that only 12% people who purchased their online courses actually watched all the videos and completed the online tasks.

In conclusion, although online learning has their own advantages, I strongly disagree the idea that people should replace the formal teaching method with online programs because they do not allow face-to-face communication and destroy the motivation of students in their education path.