Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that horizontal city is an ideal place to live, while the opponents think that vertical city deserves to reside. I would argue that residents are more likely to be satisfied their lives by living in low-rise construction.

First of all, a vertical city could benefit residents in some ways. Firstly, high-rise apartments provide a numerous of accommodations so that the cost of living can be reduced since the people who live inside can manage together to pay for the landlord. Apparently, it could be a considerably lower fee than paying for a house. Secondly, citizens in skyscrapers may not have a worry about the safety of surroundings due to the fact that this type of building structure is unlikely to attract criminals. Offenders are often unable to either access or escape from the construction as every high building usually has security protecting facilities.

However, I firmly believe that horizontal city is the best place to live. One of the reasons is that living in lower the ground is safer for inhabitants when emergencies occur. For example, when a fire burns their home they can as quickly escape as possible from the dangerous area because the construction is not too high, it will not take much time to exit. Moreover, they do not have to wait for the elevator or going downstairs when the power off. Another reason is that occupant has larger space to settle other constructions needed such as a garden, a small farm for planting vegetables. It could be a tranquil environment that may lead to a positive effect on their health.

In conclusion, although both horizontal and vertical city also has its advantages, it seems to me that low-rise offers more benefits to inhabitants.