Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

One of the most controversial issues today relates to the choices between houses and apartments. While a wide range of people intends to stay in houses, others tend to live in high buildings. The following paragraphs will delve into both points of view.

On the one hand, scores of people prefer living in apartments or flats owing to its convenience. High buildings are always located in the heart of megacities where are quite near the shopping mall, entertaining centers, and workplaces. Besides, land could be constructed for facilities namely bridges or widened roads in order to ease the traffic congestion. Moreover, living in apartments also solve the land problem in big cities, where the land is able to be bought by a prohibited price. As a result, living in a great apartment not only convenient but economized as well. Last but not least, being in the high building where the security may be strengthened more than others due to entering a building, people are often monitored. As a consequence, people incline to choose buildings. It, however, is argued that staying in a building attaching scores of payments that people have to deal with namely parking, taking out the garbage, high expenses of electricity and water.

On the other hand, it is debated that living in a horizontal city creates plenty of advantages than the vertical one. There is no denying that it is accessible to escape from a house in case of an emergency such as a fire or disastrous earthquake. Further, nearly every house owns a garden, thus, residents could receive obvious benefits from the fresh air and opened-area for mental health. Furthermore, staying in housing accommodation people have not to settle for parking and building services.

In conclusion, from the afore-mentioned discussions, although many people are keen on living in houses, others strongly believe that the benefits of staying in buildings outweigh its disadvantages. From my personal perspective, this should be considered thoroughly and prudentially.