Some people think it is easier for adults to learn practical skills (such as computer skills) by themselves while others believe it is better to learn with a teacher in classroom. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

People have different viewpoints about whether to learn by themselves or to learn from a teacher when adults want to gain practical skills. In this essay I will analyse both of their opinions and conclude my own suggestion.

It is undeniable that adults have accepted systematical education and they have the ability to acquire knowledge by themselves. Firstly, an increasing number of adults are graduating from university, in which they have learned the basic theoretical knowledge and courses such as computer principle or higher mathematics. So it makes the self-learning process more feasible and accessible. Besides, learning skills by themselves can greatly improve adults' self-motivation and self-discipline. For example, if they are interested in learning computer science and technology, they are tend to be motivated by interests which will drive them to refer the relevant information and this is especially beneficial to improve their competition in the contemporary society. Finally, self-learning is money-saving since the financial costs are much lower than taking part in a training class.

Despite the fact that self-learning has many merits, I will argue that learning with a teacher is a better approach for adults. To begin with, the vast majority of adults are employer, which means that they have to be busy with their daily work. As a result, they do not have adequate time to learn skills by themselves which is time-consuming. By enrolling a training class, though they have to pay for it, the class will teach them systematical methods and experience, which can greatly save precious time. Furthermore, it is unrealistic for everyone learning by themselves, particularly learning a brand new domain that is irrelevant to their major. For example, when an adult who is graduated from literature, it seems impossible for him to learn engineering by him or herself. In addition, learning with a teacher can also make them to know people with similar interest or request, which can enlarge one's social circle and that is also an irreplaceable advantage of joining a class.

In addition, learning skills by oneself is a good idea but it is impractical and unrealistic sometimes, it would be better to be a complementary approach of learning with a teacher in classroom.