Some people think it is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment for people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As society develops, people are attaching much importance to healthcare. Some individuals stated that humans should give priority to disease prevention when spending on well-being-related issues. Before rendering my opinion, I think it is important to take a glance at the aforementioned argument.

It goes without saying that prevention is better than cure, especially in the modern age where the vast majority of therapies cannot totally protect people from dangerous threats like mutation or cancer. Research conducted by the World Health Organisation has shown that humanity is likely to have no cure for illnesses, even cough, in the following years. In fact, investing money in strengthening the human immune system through promoting a healthy lifestyle is what First World nations doing these days. Furthermore, as the underdeveloped countries citizen can barely able to reach medicine because of the high cost, prevention against symptoms seem to be the most effective way to ensure social stability.

On the other hand, there are a majority of diseases humans could not aware of or just having minor information about them, thus, interception makes no sense. To illustrate this, there is an example that is very persuasive: cancer. Cancer appears when some of the body's cells grow uncontrollably and spread to other parts of the body, which means we can hardly aware of having it, especially in the early stages. As a result, developing therapies as well as pharmaceuticals might be the only way to save patient life.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the mentioned argument of funding cash on encouraging a healthy and balanced lifestyle as it guarantees human robustness as well as protects the society from collapse.