Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to

be a good parent.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a

good parent.

People believe that educational institutions should include parenting as a compulsory subject. To a certain extent, I share a similar point of view with this statement, and I also believe that communication skill is essential to be trained to the pupils.

one reason why children ought to be taught about parenting in schools is that the pupils spend a large amount of their time in schools. In Indonesia, for instance, most of the students use up almost 9 to 10 hours a day in school and this makes educational institutions having sufficient time to provide parenting knowledge for the pupils. Moreover, if parenting becomes one of the mandatory subjects, the students will learn hard as they are afraid of being left behind or get poor marks. However, I also believe that parents play important roles in terms of educating the students about parenting. The parents have to show a good example for their children so that they have a role model to look for when they learn about parenting.

I am convinced that a good parent should master a good communication skill as they will require this ability to communicate with their children. one of the parent’s roles is to provide knowledge for children. Without profound communication ability, the parents might fail to transfer insight for their children. Thus, teaching how to maintain interpersonal and intrapersonal communication is essential for the students.

To sum up, I agree that parenting should be one of the mandatory subjects in schools and I also think that every good parent should master a good communication skill, so that they can communicate effectively with their children.