Some people think that the media should not report details of crimes to the public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At the present time, mass media such as news, internet, etc not only improve our life but also raise the awareness of humans about wrong-doers. Whether these platforms should show up all information about offenders or not remains controversial. From my point of view, I totally agree that the media should not reveal crimes with too much detail. This essay will give some drawbacks of describing total materials.

First of all, excessive disclosure of criminal information affects not only the offender but also the victim. It is obvious that the internet can give rise to exaggerated speed of news spread. After pictures, data were published on social platforms, some people were notorious as a crimes. Therefore, it can be difficult for them to be reintegrated into the community, especially petty offenders who had good behaviors after reeducated may struggle to secure a job. For their victims, their privacy, daily activities are also influenced. As a case in point, a tragic story in Japan, in 2008, an 8-year-old girl was raped and beaten by a drunk 57-year-old man. This matter aroused the fury of citizens and most people knew. That girl then became the centre of journalists and until now, she and her family have had to move to other places many times.

Furthermore, the number of wrongdoers are increasing in terms of quantity, complexity and heinousness after broadcasting too much detail. This information will stimulate the curiosity of young people tending to follow and unaware of the consequences, for instance, using a knife to injure others. In addition, later offenders can know the police investigation process so they can avoid it in some different ways. This contributed to hard capture crimes of police.

To sum up, although the media is the major platform for knowing the problems happening all over the world, sometimes it can bring a few drawbacks for younger generations and cause many regretful crimes. Hence,the police should control the amount of information given to the media.