Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss and give opinion.

The style of houses has been highlighted as an emerging issue, sparking enormous public controversy in recent years. Although the suggestion that newly-built houses follow the traditional style of the local regions, I strongly believe that individuals can design houses based on their personal preferences.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why houses should be built in accordance with the other traditional ones. First, areas with similarly-designed houses would generate the distinct vibration and scenery, evoking visitors’ curiosity. In fact, Hoi An city in Vietnam has a reputation for building all houses based on feudal style, making it the tourism hub for many decades. Second, if houses are erected against the background of old houses, the likelihood of sparking outcry and disgust among neighbors is inevitable, causing the sense of ostracism and exclusion against the owners of that house.

On the other hand, owners could adhere to their own style when it comes to house construction. First, the architecture of houses reflects owners’ distinctive artistic taste and personal identity. It is implied that if they are compelled to build houses to blend into the universal house style of that area, it will be the conspicuous disdain for their personal style. In addition, since old houses are usually fraught with outdated structures, individuals can comply with contemporary house styles, which are always innovative, technologically advanced. For example, Instead of encompassing traditional styles around, houses nowadays should be built eco-friendly and well-ventilated, not only ensuring the users’ comfort but also reducing energy consumption.

In conclusion, I think individuals could install houses with their own style on the grounds of the benefits of personal taste expression and the adherance to contemporary trends rather than outdated traditional ones.