Some people think news has no connection to people's lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued whether news is useful for individuals' lives or not. Although there are some who opine that they are disconnected from people's lifestyle, I totally disagree with this statement for the reasons explained below.

Firstly, news provide knowledge in various issues, and this is a main reason why they are not time-consuming. More specifically, the phenomenon of watching news via Television or reading them in newspapers will support you in forming comprehensive viewpoints in everyday matters. Not only can you have your own opinion when judging any occasions, but also you can discuss more topics with friends in daily talks. For example, reading news like politics, economy or environment makes you aware of these issues and capable of starting a conversation related to them. If you are specialized in medicine or science, medical or scientific news will intensify your knowledge accumulation.

Secondly, shaping a personal habit of reading news will bring massive societal advantages. If the majority of citizens read about the latest news in local newspapers or watch what is going on globally, they will be more sensitized of the issues that affect their society both directly and indirectly. In this case, the community will be necessarily benefit from these kinds of people. To illustrate this, people are usually reading a plethora of topics in newspapers, so as to avoid becoming decadent individuals. But more fundamentally, newspapers and Television often break the news in categories, giving the choice to their readers or auditors to learn about the things that are more concerned. As a result, people choose to be informed the way they want to, and news are embedded in their lives in a manner that individuals are willing to.

In conclusion, despite the counterarguments of the utility of getting informed via Television or newspapers, I am of the view of the importance of the latter both for personal and social benefits.