Some people think that the news media has become much more influential in people’s lives today and it is a negative development.

Some people believe that nowadays media networks concentrate profoundly on negative development rather than contributing something positive to society through news outlets. I partly agree with this assertion; while it may be true in the case of depressing and upsetting news which are over-broadcasted, others seem to have a beneficial effect in our life.

On the one hand, the trend that reports of negative problems, in particular, may have adverse effects on individuals and society. Firstly, in terms of each person, news which are exaggerated in pursuit of attracting people’s attention and run with sole aim of maximizing profit can cause feelings of panic or develop pessimistic attitudes towards daily life. Life is considerably stressful as it is, however, media makes it more serious by adding redundant news about the secret of celebrities’ personal life, natural disasters or traffic accidents which leads people to absorb too much bad information. Secondly, with the growth of gloomy reports and sensational contents of news outlets would result in the influx of people who imitate negative behavior broadcasted regularly. For example, the rate of suicide in Vietnam is rising abnormal after communication posted pemanent news about the successive cases of student who kill themselves.

On the other hand, I truly agree that news media also reports useful information for people from all walks of life. The function of presenting the potential of severe disasters such as tsunami, flood or earthquake perfectly exemplifies this situation. For instance, news outlets would give speedy warning for residents in order to take appropriate action to deal with problems and stay safely right away. Governments and local authorities are also able to figure out feasible and timely solutions for the serious problems, therefore minimizing detrimental consequences.

In conclusion, although it might seem sensible that more and more unbeneficial news are produced everyday, I personally support the idea that media continue play an important role in our daily life.