Some people think that people should be given the right to use freshwater as they like. Others believe governments should strictly control the use of freshwater. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions diverge on whether the government should give permission for people to use freshwater freely instead of controlling it strickly. Although this sentiment can be justified to some extent, I am in opposition to some rational reasons.

Admittedly, the use of freshwater controlled by the government can lead to a pandemic outbreak because of the water shortage. This can be explained by the fact that the control of freshwater strictly can limit the demand for human daily use, which in turn impacts the sanitary conditions of the population. Once a large number of people are stressed now that freshwater is not enough for their washing or brushing, it is time for the bacteria to threaten people’s health. By that, the government’s regulation on consuming freshwater can do a great disservice to residents’ life.

Conversely, I express my strong support for saving natural resources by the government's hand in controlling freshwater. When it comes to the overuse of freshwater, preserved water sources become scarcer. The reason is that industrial waste pollutes the water body and the salinization process transpires quickly, which leads to fewer amounts of drinkable water. Hence, if there is no governmental intervention, water is not enough to supply for humans in the future. Moreover, natural disaster is attributed to the extraction of groundwater caused by human overconsumption without the government’s management. Earthquakes, for example, can occur regularly when the earth's crust is lighter because of the lack of groundwater and sinking terrain worsens the situation.

By way of conclusion, notwithstanding the advantages of giving the freedom for citizens to use water, I ascertain that the government’s control can protect not only humans but also the planet.