Some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that to encourage more civilians using public transport, the government should fund and make it free. Personally I completely agree with this view because this will provide a two-way benefit, for not only civilians but also the government. The society is more modern and the people should receive more welfare from the country in which they live. Besides, the habit of using public transport of civilians also has a lot of positive effects on the environment.

To begin with, there are two main reasons why some people feel that it is not necessary for government fund money to make public transport become free for people. One reason is that if the government invests the country’s money into public transports, it is very expensive and wasteful. Instead, they can save money for other things which are more necessary such as improving the quality of health, especially in the current covid-19 pandemic, which is very complicated. Furthermore, if the use of public transports is free, it will become low quality. Typical example is Public toilets are free of charge now. It is very dirty and the facilities are seriously degraded. Obviously, the investment of the government can cause some negative effects.

Apart from the practical disadvantages expressed above, I believe that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it. Firstly, the investment of the government into public transports will let a lot of people use it. When the environment is becoming bad and worse because of the huge emissions from private vehicles, making civilians change their habits, using public transport instead of their vehicles will be one of the best ways to protect the atmosphere. Besides, using public transports will limit the number of traffic accidents which happen everyday by many private vehicles, essentially motorbikes. Secondly, with the growth of society, people should have more social welfare. The free use of public transport helps the community to become connected and loving. Therefore, the government should fund public transport so people can use it for free.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned about, I strongly believe that the investment of the government into growing and making it become free is totally deserved. The benefit for civilians and the development of the country because a country really prospers only when the needs of its people are met and they feel happy living in that country.