Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

The question as to whether or not schools should admit students based on their natural skill-set has sparked intense debate recently. While segregating students on the basis of their abilities can facilitate more specialized and efficient lessons, I would assert that integrating students of varying aptitudes engenders a more complete learning environment.

It is understandable why some would advocate for admitting students based on their abilities. The chief reason is that when students are assigned to a class based on skill level, teachers can plan and execute correctly paced lessons. For instance, in the International Baccalaureate Diploma program, core subjects are split into Standard Level and Higher Level classes. Students who are in the Higher Level classes take lessons featuring more advanced material and topics, whereas those in Standard Level classes face less demanding topics and assignments. This separation allows them to study at their own speed, improving the progress for weaker and stronger students as the former will be able to take their time to learn and the latter group can proceed more rapidly.

However, students of differing skill sets can help each other to learn when they are together in a single class. Students who are well-versed in a particular skill can share important techniques and experience in how to master that skill with classmates who may be weaker. To give a hypothetical example, a student who is proficient at delivering presentations can share valuable tips to others who are less competent in doing them such as taking deep breaths to overcome their stage fright or using hand gestures to emphasize key points. There is also a strong likelihood the student who was helped will have other strengths, such as in a more logical subject like mathematics, and be able to help other classmates in turn. Consequently, students can learn from one another in this setting and become more well-rounded.

In conclusion, while selecting students based on their abilities can offer a more specialized learning environment, I contend that grouping students of varying skills and strengths can provide them a more comprehensive learning experience. I would suggest that schools should encourage the implementation of mixed-ability classes to create a more holistic educational setting.