People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

In recent years, people are likely to undergo sleep deprivation. This essay will shed the light on a number of causes associated with this situation and analyze possible effect of insufficient sleep.

There are numerous reasons why people tend to spend less time sleeping. One of them is heavy workload. These days, the workers from many companies are bombarded with not only the tasks assigned in official working time but also outside ones. As a result, they are obliged to allocate their quality time for the tasks in order to meet the deadlines leading to lack of sleep. The explosion of technology is the following cause. In the past, TV was the main form of entertainment but it was not allowed to broadcast from 11pm to 5am so people may sleep efficiently. At the present, the novel platforms, especially Tik Tok, capturing people attention, has been available 24/7. Therefore, people usually stay up late for immersing themselves in virtual world.

Sleep insufficiency could lead to certain consequences. Firstly, the job performances of the co-workers are adversely affected. Due to lacking sleep, they might lose their concentration and sleep during working time. For that reason, it would bring about the detrimental impact to the working efficiency of the whole company. Secondly, many unexpected accidents result from not having enough sleep. According to many traffic statistics, sleeping insufficiently is a common factor in a number of fatal crashes. That could be explained by the reduction of alertness and reaction if the drivers did not have a quality sleep.

In conclusion, the fact using less time in bed is mainly caused by some additional tasks and social media. This would have a negative impact on working performances of workers and raise the percentage of accidents.