As country develop, more and more people buy and use their own car. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there is an increasing number of people owning private cars thanks to the country modernization. Although car ownership may be beneficial to some extents, some of the drawbacks also need to be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, there are many advantages associated with having private cars. Firstly, owning personal cars is possibly more convenient than using public ones. The car owners are likely to maintain the flexibility in time, because they do not have to rely on fixed schedule. Therefore, squandering time at the station is not necessary for people owning personal cars. Secondly, cars ownership helps in ensuring the safety among users. For example, pickpockets are likely to make use of the crowds on the public transportations to steal personal belongings. So that, having personal cars might prevent those social crimes as much as possible.

On the other hand, car ownership could have certain negative aspects. Private cars would adversely affect the environment. To illustrate, gasoline, used for manipulating the car, is regarded as dirty fuel. When a massive amount of exhaust fumes is emitted into the air, it would culminate in air contamination. Additionally, the grow of traffic congestion is one of the disadvantages of owning personal cars. Ho Chi Minh city, which is a densely populated area, has witnessed a significant increase in using personal cars. During the rush hour, the cars line up taking up space. As a result, commuting becomes much more challenging to the residents during peak hour.

In conclusion, while having private cars is beneficial to owners for the convenience and having safer means of transport, having a detrimental effect on environment and traffic jam require some strategies to tackle.