Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increase in the number of wrongdoers has put a burden on the government. There is a debate about whether offering education and job training or confinement in jail is the most effective solution to cope with them. From my point of view, imprisoning is the only solution in most situations, but in some cases, rehabilitation is better.

On the one hand, education and job training are more suitable options for juvenile delinquents or when the crimes are misdemeanors. Evidently, if people committing crimes in their teens or twenties are imprisoned, they will be free mostly by their thirties, the prime working age. By offering them suitable vocational skills or education, when coming back to society, young criminals can find a job and integrate into the community more easily. Similarly, misdemeanors happen mostly because of the lack of general knowledge or money. Therefore, providing essential training would enable them to distinguish between right and wrong as well as help them earn a living in the future. All these things lower the possibility of future re-offense.

On the other hand, incarceration is the most effective measure to deal with homicides or aggravated assaults. By imprisoning the perpetrators, they will be permanently kept away from the community and cannot cause further life losses. Additionally, drug and people traffickers are more dangerous because they destroy the whole future and family of the victims. These people are beyond redemption and should serve the maximum sentences, including capital punishment.

In conclusion, the ultimate purpose of any law is to create a better society, so depends upon the age and the type of offense, we should find the most appropriate solution such as giving opportunities to the young or heavily punishment to the murders.